Marriage and Civil Union Licenses
Print out the proper application here, fill it out and bring it with the appropriate documentation to the Office of the Clerk and Recorder.
Where and when can a marriage or civil union license be obtained?
To apply for a marriage or civil union license, both you and your intended spouse must appear in person at the Office of the Clerk and Recorder:
San Juan County Courthouse
1557 Greene St
Silverton CO 81433
Office Hours: Monday through Friday 8am to 4:00pm with lunch from noon to 1:00pm.
Due to time constraints, license applications will not be processed after 3:45pm.
How to apply
You must be able to provide the following to obtain a marriage or civil union license.
Additionally, if you have a Social Security number you are required to provide it. If either party does not have a Social Security number (they are from another country, or they are in the process of obtaining U.S. citizenship)they are not required to have one to get married.
Important Note: Birth certificates, baptismal certificates and Mexican Consular IDs (Matricula Consular) are not acceptable for marriage license applications.
Recording Your License
It must be returned to the Clerk and Recorder's Office within 63 days of the date of the ceremony. Licenses returned more than 63 days after the date of the ceremony shall incur a minimum late fee of not less than $ 20.00 with an additional $ 5.00 assessed each day thereafter not to exceed $ 50.00 per Colorado Revised Statute 14-2-109(1). The postmark will be used to calculate applicable late fees. After it has been recorded, the original marriage license will be returned to your home address for you to keep as a permanent record.
Never submit your original license to anyone for documentation purposes; you may not get it back. For circumstances requiring documentation of your marriage license, a certified copy may be obtained for $3.00 per copy. A copy of a marriage license is not considered to be “official” unless it is obtained from the County Clerk’s Office.
You may obtain as many certified copies as you wish at any time. When requesting a copy, please include a self addressed stamped envelope (SASE) to avoid postage and handling charges.
Marriage License: $30
Civil Union License: $30
Certified Copy: $3
Non-Certified Copy: $2
Legal age without parental consent is 18 for both persons. If under the age of 18 and over the age of 16, written and notarized consent signed by both parents (or parent having legal custody), or legal guardian is required. A Judicial Court Order from the court of jurisdiction is required of anyone under the age of 16.
No blood test is required. Legal identification for proof of age is required. This can be a driver's license, birth certificate (original or certified copy), military ID, passport, or State issued identification. Social Security number is requested as well as place of birth and names and addresses of both parents.
Marriages may be solemnized by judges, retired judges, magistrates, Indian tribe officials and clergy, or by the couple themselves. The person solemnizing the marriage must forward the marriage certificate to the County Clerk and Recorder's office within sixty days after the marriage.
A marriage license issued by Colorado is valid only for solemnization in Colorado. A marriage license issued by another state is not valid for solemnization in Colorado.
Couples are prohibited from marrying when one of the parties is still married to another person. Also prohibited are marriages of brother and sister, uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, whether the relationship is by half or whole blood.